Munchimonster

Adventures in Eating & Cooking

Decent Chinese Restaurant in University City

Yesterday I met up with my friend Soobin who had a craving for Chinese food, so she took me to a place on Spruce Street called Beijing Restaurant. Surprised that I had never been down that street before, I was curious about what this new place had to offer.

Since we had gotten there quite early, the waiter said we were allowed to choose one spring roll appetizer, soup, or house salad. Absentmindedly, I  misunderstood him twice. First, I thought he meant I could pick any appetizer so I asked for the cold noodles. He said, “No, only spring roll.” So then I asked if I could get the pickle salad with sesame seed. By now the waiter had started glaring at me impatiently and explained that I could only pick house salad, and if that was what I wanted. Feeling guilty and dumb, I just nodded. I would complain about the service, except I feel like it was partially my fault for being so slow… Plus, Soobin and I were quite demanding. (We kept asking for more water, chopsticks, etc.)

Eggplant Stuffed with Shrimp

My eggplant stuffed with shrimp came shortly afterward with a bowl of rice, and it was the most authentic takeout-style Chinese food I have had in Philly yet. The savory oily sauce that bathed the eggplant was not sickeningly sweet or concentrated in oyster sauce. It actually tasted a lot like the takeout I could get in Flushing, or the stuffed eggplant dim sum dish. The broccoli was also good, although it could have been crunchier and more flavorful. I liked this dish a lot, although it’s definitely overpriced as I could probably get it for $6.95 as opposed to the heavy $13.95.

Grade: B

Conclusion: Serves some decent Chinese food; the service is fast but not always friendly…

Location: Map

3714 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4115
(215) 222-5242

Other Opinions: Yelp, Citysearch, Menupages

3 comments on “Decent Chinese Restaurant in University City

  1. Nicholas
    July 2, 2010

    Oh snap, I’ve been here (albeit a long time ago when my sister went to Penn). They used to be really cheap and kind of shady looking. Glad to hear they’re kinda good now, not so glad to hear they’ve also bumped up prices :(.

    Like

    • bubblepeachtea
      July 2, 2010

      Yeahh… Well, they aren’t that great, but relative to a lot of whitewashed take-out crap, they’re pretty good xD I heard there’s a Chinese food truck on Penn that’s cheaper and just as good too

      Like

  2. Pingback: Fabulous Fresh Fruits & Re-discovery of Sugar Philly « Munchi Monster

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2010 by in Philly: University City and tagged , , , , , , , .